Quellhaus Hinterstoder Quellhaus Hinterstoder

“Now Yvonne and Hugh were high enough to see, through the trees, the stars low down on the western horizon. Scorpio setting … Sagittarius, Capricornus; ah, there, here they were, after all, in their right places, their configurations all at once right, recognized, their pure geometry scintillating, flawless. And tonight as five thousand years ago they would rise and set: Capricorn, Aquarius, with, beneath, lonely Fomalhaut; Picses; and the Ram; Taurus, with Aldebaran and the Pleiades.”

MALCOM LOWRY: UNDER THE VOLCANO. 1947/1958>, LONDON: JONATHAN CAPE, 1947

HINTERSTODER

With just under 1,000 inhabitants, Hinterstoder is only a few kilometers from the A9 Pyhrnautobahn, one of the great north-south axes of Europe, at peace with itself, conveniently located as well as secluded in the Pyhrn-Priel region of Upper Austria.

If Upper Austria can already be considered the undisguised, authentic Austria on a small scale, the area on the northern edge of the Alps once again occupies a special position. Connoisseurs of the region describe the sparsely populated and scenically very charming area as the Tuscany of the Limestone Alps.

THE STODERTAL VALLEY

Especially the Stodertal Valley has only been minimally developed. Except for the ski area on Höss Mountain, cable cars, ski lifts and power lines have no chance here. Hinterstoder attaches great importance to the sustainability of its development and has joined the Netzwerk Zukunftsorte (Towns of the Future Network), a platform for Austria’s innovative communities.

Another network membership makes Hinterstoder one of 27 European Alpine Pearls committed to soft mobility and sustainable tourism. For its efforts, the town already received the European Village Renewal Award in 1998.

IN THE SURROUNDINGS

Extensive nature reserves, including the Totes Gebirge mountain range with over 1,000 km2 of alpine wilderness are located in the Hinterstoder municipal area and in the immediate vicinity. The famous English alpine painter and mountaineer Edward Theodore Compton (1849–1921) could not and did not want to escape the charm of the mountains around Hinterstoder, which would make just as good a figure as those in Tyrol.

Several times he stayed for longer periods in Stodertal Valley.

What he painted here can be seen today at the Hinterstoder Mountain World Adventure Museum Alpineum.

Quellhaus Hinterstoder Quellhaus Hinterstoder

„Jetzt waren Yvonne und Hugh so hoch, dass sie durch die Bäume die Sterne tief unten am westlichen Horizont sehen konnten. Skorpion im Sinken … Schütze, Steinbock; ach, da waren sie doch, mit einemmal an ihren richtigen Plätzen, in der richtigen, anerkannten Konstellation, funkelnd in ihrer makellos reinen Geometrie. Und sie würden heute auf- und untergehen wie vor fünftausend Jahren: der Steinbock, der Wassermann und darunter die einsame Formalhaut: die Fische und der Widder; der Stier mit dem Aldebaran und den Plejaden.“

MALCOM LOWRY: UNTER DEM VULKAN. REINBEK, 1963/1974 (ROWOHLT)
ORIGINAL: UNDER THE VOLCANO. 1947/1958>

HINTERSTODER

Mit knapp 1.000 Einwohnern liegt Hinterstoder nur wenige Kilometer von der Pyhrnautobahn A9, einer der großen Nord-Süd-Achsen Europas, ganz im Frieden mit sich selbst gleichermaßen verkehrsgünstig wie abgeschieden in der Phyrn-Priel-Region Oberösterreichs.

Darf Oberösterreich schon als das ungeschminkte, authentische Österreich im Kleinen gelten, nimmt der Landstrich am Nordrand der Alpen noch einmal eine Sonderstellung ein. Kenner der Region bezeichnen die dünn besiedelte und landschaftlich ungemein reizvolle Gegend als die Toskana der Kalkalpen.

DAS STODERTAL

Vor allem das Stodertal ist mit viel Augenmaß nur minimal erschlossen worden. Das Schigebiet auf der Höss ausgenommen, heißt es hier punkto Seilbahnen, Liften und Hochspannungsleitungen: Fehlanzeige. Hinterstoder selbst legt großen Wert auf die Nachhaltigkeit seiner Entwicklung und hat sich dem Netzwerk Zukunftsorte angeschlossen.

Eine weitere Netzwerkmitgliedschaft macht Hinterstoder zu einer von 27 europäischen Alpine Pearls, die sich zu sanfter Mobilität und nachhaltigem Tourismus bekennen. Für seine Bemühungen ist der Ort bereits 1998 mit dem Europäischen Dorferneuerungspreis ausgezeichnet worden.

RUNDHERUM

Auf Hinterstoderer Gemeindegebiet und in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft liegen ausgedehnte Naturschutzgebiete, darunter das Tote Gebirge mit über 1.000 kmalpiner Wildnis. Dem Reiz der Berge rund um Hinterstoder, die in Tirol genausogut beste Figur machen würden, konnte und wollte sich auch der berühmte englische Alpenmaler und Bergsteiger Edward Theodore Compton (1849-1921) nicht entziehen.
Er hielt sich mehrmals länger im Stodertal auf.

Was er dabei malte, ist heute im Hinterstoderer Bergwelt-Erlebnismuseum Alpineum zu sehen.